View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2024 3:44 am

Ridge Top Runaround 
Longbeard

Post Ridge Top Runaround
I have been hunting an area in the National Forest for two years now, and have yet to see one of these elusive birds. They will come to about 50-75 yards and hang-up EVERY time! They will not come around the side of, or up to the top of the ridge and show themselves. I've tried soft calling, no calling, purring softly, and aggresive calling, but nothing works! The only thing I have not tried is calling them downhill.

This morning was the closest I have come to seeing one. I jumped two birds off the roost at daylight going in. They were within 50 yards of the state road. So, I stuck to my plan and went to a spot they have been using to gather with their hens. I heard a couple of hens in the direction the two birds flew. At about 7:00 I finally heard a bird gobble about 250 yards away in the opposite direction. I started off soft calling, but he wouldn't move. I then threw the cutts to him and he resonded by gobbling more often. I then went silent.

I had ants starting to crawl all over me, and then they started biting. I got the old bird to within 40 yards, but again he would not show himself. While waiting, one of the ants crawled into my left eye! I heard him gobble further down the hollow. So, I eased back up the ridge about 30 yards, away from the ants and he came closer, but wouldn't show himself. By then it was 9:00, so I picked up my things and went to where I first heard him. I cutt and then used my box call to do two gobbles. After about 10 minutes he gobbled twice about 75 yards in front of me. I waited about 5 minutes and cutt, and nothing! After waiting another 20 minutes I had to leave.

How do you deal with these kinds of birds? My patience is wearing thin!

Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:52 pm
Boss Gobbler

You need a buddy to setup 30-40 yards behind you and do the calling...

Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:59 pm
Profile WWW