View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 22, 2024 3:32 pm

Lesson learned 
King of Spring

Post Lesson learned
I work in the retail business with a very small company that opens at 7 am so I am not able to get out as much as I would like . I am basically a weekend warrior with an occasional foray for a couple of hours during weekdays . On the last such occasion I had several hard gobbling birds in my vicinity . I ended up making a lot of very agressive moves because I felt so constrained by time . In the end all that I ended up with were several spooked gobblers that have learned valuable lessons from me . I now have (hopefully) seen the light and understand that it is better to be patient and try it another day . It's hard to do when you know that your days are very limited and you have to get to work asap .

Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:09 pm
King of Spring

I'm in the same boat, its hard not to press em. The trick is to take what you learned and walk away before he takes what he learned and walks away ( or flies or runs). Good luck!

Wed Apr 19, 2006 8:26 pm
2 Year Old

definately.....it took me a while to learn that whole patience thing. and I'm still learning. I just hate it when the gobbler shuts up. Most of the time I know he's usually close by looking for me, but I just can't stand it after about 30-40 minutes of silence. My very first solo hunt I just got pissed and started walking torwards where I heard the last gobble. I walked up on 4 monsters, they flew, I shot, then I screamed and yelled at them.

Well, I didn't hunt that block anymore that year, but friend of mine did about a week later. He heard several gobbles at day break. Once he yelped, they shut up for good and never gobbled again. That was because of what I did. Major lesson learned.

Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:15 pm
Profile YIM
King of Spring

Post Vagrouse hunter and I have the same story