View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:53 pm

Tss 
2 Year Old

Post Tss
So for Christmas my dad got me 3 inch tss turkey loads and I have never used them before and I was wandering if anyone else had :?:

Wild Bill

Wed Mar 09, 2022 9:21 pm
Longbeard

Post Re: Tss
I shoot the Apex #9’s out of my 20 guage, and the Apex Ninja 9.5’s out of the .410

Wed Mar 09, 2022 11:38 pm
Boss Gobbler

I shoot them in my 20 gauge. Excellent patterns with a couple of chokes.

"What gets us jangly is the suddenness of everything. We hunt turkeys because we want to hear them gobble, watch them strut and all that, and we hunt them with shotguns because we want to be close to them when those things occur." - Jim Spencer

Thu Mar 10, 2022 6:49 am
Profile WWW
Longbeard

Great stuff. It patterns tighter than lead, so I use a standard full choke in 20 gauge with Apex #9 TSS which produces a 40 yard pattern which is plenty tight, but open enough at closer ranges to give you a little margin for error on the ones that sneak in close. My understanding is that penetration is equivalent to 4 sizes larger lead shot, so #9 TSS gives penetration of #5 lead.
I suggest sighting in with lead dove loads, to save money and your shoulder, before shooting any of the TSS to assess pattern.
That was a great Christmas present!

Thu Mar 10, 2022 10:03 pm
Longbeard

[url]Image[/url]
[url]Image[/url]

Sat Mar 12, 2022 4:07 pm
King of Spring

playin' hookey wrote:
My understanding is that penetration is equivalent to 4 sizes larger lead shot, so #9 TSS gives penetration of #5 lead.